Kabaddi Competitions Details

Kabaddi World Cup

The World Kabaddi Cup (KWC) is an outdoor , international standard-style kabaddi event that is governed through the International Kabaddi Federation (IKF) with participation by men’s as well as women’s national teams. It was held in 2004, 2007 and 2016. The tournaments have all ended with India. India defeated Iran 38-29 in the final game of the championship to win the title in the 2016.

After the establishment of a new kabaddi organization named World Kabaddi Federation, a 2019 Kabaddi World Cup was held in April 2019 in Malacca, Malaysia. It was the largest world event in the history of Kabaddi, with 32 teams from the men’s side and 24 women’s teams.

Asian Games

Kabaddi was performed as a show-off event during the First Asian Games in 1951 as well as in 1982. It was then made a medal event for first time in the year 1990.

The Indian national team won every men’s and women’s kabaddi competition in the Asian Games from 2002 through the year 2014. At in the year 2018 Asian Games, Iran became the first non-Indian country India to earn gold medals in kabaddi and India’s men’s team won bronze and the women’s squad being defeated by Iran to take silver.

Pro Kabaddi League

The Pro Kabaddi League was established in 2014. The business model of the league was based on the model of its predecessor, the Indian Premier League of Twenty20 cricket, with a major emphasis on marketing, the support of the the local television station Star Sports, and changes to the rules of the sport and its format to make it more appealing to a TV audience. Its Pro Kabaddi League quickly became an instant hit on Indian television. The year 2014 was watched by a minimum of 435 million viewers throughout the duration of the season and the first championship game was watched at least 98.6 millions viewers.

Additional rules are utilized during the Pro Kabaddi League to encourage scoring. When the defensive team has less than three players the tackles earn two points instead of just one. Additionally, if a team has two raids that are empty within a row, the second raider has to score one point or they’ll be expelled and the team in opposition will be awarded one point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *